Skip to main content Skip to site footer


The Crystal Palace Player of the Year award is now in its fifth decade of existence, with some of the club's top names winning the season's top accolade.

The inaugural award was won by John McCormick back in 1972, having played a key role in Palace’s promotion to the First Division following his arrival seven years earlier. The person who has been recognised the most times is Julian Speroni, who has won the prize four times in his Eagles career, including three years in a row between 2008 and 2010.

The club's record appearance holder Jim Cannon has won it on three separate occasions, while seven other players have won it multiple times including current holder Wilfried Zaha, who has scooped the Player of the Year award for the past three seasons.

Crystal Palace Football Club Player of the Year winners:

1972 John McCormick
1973 Tony Taylor
1974 Peter Taylor
1975 Derek Jeffries
1976 Peter Taylor
1977 Kenny Sansom
1978 Jim Cannon
1979 Kenny Sansom
1980 Paul Hinshelwood
1981 Paul Hinshelwood
1982 Paul Barron
1983 Jerry Murphy
1984 Billy Gilbert
1985 Jim Cannon
1986 George Wood
1987 Jim Cannon
1988 Geoff Thomas
1989 Ian Wright
1990 Mark Bright
1991 Geoff Thomas
1992 Eddie McGoldrick
1993 Andy Thorn
1994 Chris Coleman
1995 Richard Shaw
1996 Andy Roberts
1997 David Hopkin
1998 Marc Edworthy
1999 Hayden Mullins
2000 Andy Linighan
2001 Fan Zhiyi
2002 Dougie Freedman
2003 Hayden Mullins
2004 Andrew Johnson
2005 Andrew Johnson
2006 Emmerson Boyce
2007 Leon Cort
2008 Julian Speroni
2009 Julian Speroni
2010 Julian Speroni
2011 Nathaniel Clyne
2012 Jonathan Parr
2013 Mile Jedinak
2014 Julian Speroni
2015 Scott Dann
2016 Wilfried Zaha
2017 Wilfried Zaha
2018 Wilfried Zaha