Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Palace Trio Named In Team Of The Year

29 April 2013

Three members of the Crystal Palace squad have been named in the Professional Footballers’ Association Championship Team of the Year. 

Wilfried Zaha, Glenn Murray and Yannick Bolasie were all selected in the best XI for the 2012/13 season, at the PFA Awards last night.  

No other club in the Championship can boast three players in the team, with league champions Cardiff City and playoff-chasing Leicester both seeing two of their players named. 

The accolade was part of a double award-winning night for Zaha, who also picked up the Championship Player of the Year prize. 

The youngster, who was signed by Manchester United in January before being loaned back to Palace, pipped 30-goal teammate Murray to the award. 

The 20-year-old has scored six goals in 45 appearances for the Eagles this season and also made his international debut earlier in the campaign, coming on for Raheem Sterling as an 83rd minute substitute in a friendly against Sweden in November 2012. 

Championship Team of the Year: Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester); Kieran Trippier (Burnley), Wes Morgan (Leicester), Mark Hudson (Cardiff), Wayne Bridge (Brighton); Wilfried Zaha (Crystal Palace), Thomas Ince (Blackpool), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff), Yannick Bolasie (Crystal Palace); Glenn Murray (Crystal Palace), Matej Vydra (Watford).

Advertisement block