Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Murray & Zaha Up For FL Awards

21 March 2013

The Football League has announced the final shortlists ahead of Sunday’s Football League Awards 2013 with Palace attacking duo Glenn Murray and Wilfried Zaha both receiving nominations for the top prizes.

Murray's 29 league goals this season has seen him listed among the three contenders for the npower Championship Player of the Year award which was voted for by the league's 24 managers, and the Eagles hitman and the league's top scorer is up against Watford's Matej Vydra and Blackpool's Tom Ince.

Zaha has the chance to retain the Johnstone's Paint Young Player of the Year award he won last season with his nomination in this year's category, as he battles with the same two players to hopefully cap off a fine campaign including a first England cap and a £15 million move to Manchester United by scooping another personal accolade.

Richard Heaselgrave, Chief Commercial Officer at The Football League, said: “The Football League Awards are a great way to celebrate the work that goes on behind the scenes at each club, as well as the action that has taken place on the pitch each week.
“To make these shortlists is a real achievement. I would like to wish all those nominated the best of luck and we look forward to announcing the winners on the evening.”

npower Championship Player of the Year
Thomas Ince – Blackpool
Glenn Murray – Crystal Palace
Matěj Vydra – Watford

Johnstone’s Paint Young Player of the Year
Thomas Ince – Blackpool
Matěj Vydra – Watford
Wilfried Zaha     Crystal Palace

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit

Advertisement block