Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Pulis Wins Premier League Award

12 May 2014

Tony Pulis was named the Premier League Manager of the Year on Monday evening at the League Managers Association end of season dinner.

The Welshman scooped the divisional award after leading Palace to Premier League safety, but was beaten to the overall LMA Manager of the Year prize, voted by all 92 league managers, by Liverpool boss Brendan Rodgers.  

The Eagles had just four points to their name when Pulis took over on the morning of the away match at Hull City and led his side, against the odds, to safety with games to spare before the end of the season. 

The LMA award is based on the resources available to each manager and is voted for by its members. 

Following the final game of the season at Fulham, Pulis said that to finish in 11th place was a massive over-achievement, but believes the work has only just begun.

"This is a community club based in the most densely populated area in London and has a great opportunity of pushing forward,” he said. 

“We’ve got to stay in the Premier League for the next two or three years to realise what we can eventually achieve. We have to look forward and say this is the way we will go and do it."

Advertisement block