Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Cape Town Cup - How It Works

22 July 2015

The inaugural Cape Town Cup will be taking place this week with the Eagles joined by South Africa sides, Supersport United and Cape Town Ajax, as well as Portuguese giants Sporting Lisbon.

The action gets underway on Friday at 16.45 BST when Palace take on Supersport at the Cape Town Stadium, which will be hosting all the matches. All games will be 90 minutes long, and if a match ends in a draw, a penalty shoot-out will take place to determine the winner - no extra time will be played.

The winner of Palace's game will advance to the final, where they will face one of the other two sides who play straight after the Eagles' opening game at 19.15 BST.

After a day off, Sunday will begin with a third and fourth place play-off between the losers of the opening matches, which starts at 12.00 BST, with the final following the conclusion of that game around 14.30 BST.

The winners of that game will be crowned as champions of the tournament and will receive the Cape Town Cup trophy.

Fixtures (all times BST)

Friday 24th July - Supersport United v Crystal Palace (16.45)
                        - Ajax Cape Town v Sporting Lisbon (19.15)

Sunday 26th July - Loser Game 1 v Loser Game 2 (12.00)
                          - Winner Game 1 v Winner Game 2 (14.30)

Advertisement block