Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Palace Duo Named In Netherlands Squad

19 March 2018

Palace pair Patrick van Aanholt and Timothy Fosu-Mensah have been named in the Netherlands squad for their upcoming friendlies against England and Portugal.

The pair have been rewarded for their recent club form by being included in Ronald Koeman’s first squad in charge of the Oranje, and that means the duo could be in line to face Gareth Southgate’s England on Friday night in Amsterdam before travelling to Geneva where they will take on the reigning European Champions.

Having failed to qualify for both Euro 2016 and this summer’s World Cup, Koeman is beginning the rebuilding process, and named six Premier League players in the 25-man squad, with Liverpool pair Virgil van Dijk and Georginio Wijnaldum, Bournemouth's Nathan Ake and Brighton's Davy Propper joining Van Aanholt and Fosu-Mensah.

Van Aanholt is yet to make an appearance for his country since joining the Eagles last January but has six caps to his name, while Fosu-Mensah will be looking to add to two his first two caps won earlier this season.

Full squad:
Goalkeepers: Marco Bizot (AZ Alkmaar), Jasper Cillessen (Barcelona), Jeroen Zoet (PSV Eindhoven)

Defenders: Patrick van Aanholt (Crystal Palace), Nathan Ake (Bournemouth), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool), Timothy Fosu-Mensah (Crystal Palace), Hans Hateboer (Atalanta), Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax), Kenny Tete (Lyon), Stefan de Vrij (Lazio).

Midfielders: Donny van de Beek (Ajax), Davy Propper (Brighton), Marten de Roon (Atalanta), Kevin Strootman (Roma), Guus Til (AZ Alkmaar), Tonny Vilhena (Feyenoord), Georginio Wijnaldum (Liverpool).

Forwards: Ryan Babel (Besiktas), Steven Berghuis (Feyenoord), Memphis Depay (Lyon), Bas Dost (Sporting Lisbon), Justin Kluivert (Ajax), Quincy Promes (Spartak Moscow), Wout Weghorst (AZ Alkmaar).

Advertisement block