Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Hennessey Called Up For Wales Friendly

16 May 2018

Eagles goalkeeper Wayne Hennessey has been selected for Wales’ friendly against Mexico in California later this month.

The shot-stopper, who played 29 times for Palace in all competitions last term, is amongst a 32-man contingent heading Stateside to take on the World Cup finalists on 28th May. The match will be the third of Ryan Giggs’ reign, having finished runners-up in the China Cup during March’s international break.

Giggs is also hosting a training camp to continue to evaluate the players at his disposal, with Hennessey returning to his native north Wales for an open training session in Wrexham as one four goalkeepers in the party, alongside Chris Maxwell of Preston North End, Luke Pilling of Tottenham Hotspur and Barnsley’s Adam Davies.

Hennessey has won 75 caps for the Red Dragons since making his debut in 2007, including 34 during his time with the Eagles. Should he play against Mexico, then he will close the gap on Mile Jedinak and Aki Riihilahti at the top of the club’s all-time international caps winners.

Aaron Ramsey, Joe Ledley and Hal Robson-Kanu return to the Wales squad but Joe Allen and Neil Taylor miss out through injury, while Gareth Bale, Ben Woodburn and Danny Ward aren’t included after reaching the UEFA Champions League final.

Full Wales squad:

Goalkeepers: Wayne Hennessey (Crystal Palace), Chris Maxwell (Preston North End), Adam Davies (Barnsley), Luke Pilling (Tottenham Hotspur).

Defenders: Ashley Williams (Everton), Ashley Richards (Cardiff City), Ben Davies (Tottenham Hotspur), Chris Gunter (Reading), Declan John (Rangers), Connor Roberts (Swansea City), Chris Mepham (Brentford), Regan Poole (Manchester United), Joe Rodon (Swansea City), Adam Matthews (Sunderland), Cameron Coxe (Cardiff City), Tom Lockyer (Bristol Rovers).

Midfielders: Aaron Ramsey (Arsenal), Joe Ledley (Derby County), Dan James (Swansea City), George Thomas (Leicester City), George Williams (Fulham), Matthew Smith (Manchester City), Lee Evans (Sheffield United), Andy King (Leicester City), Ryan Hedges (Barnsley), Marley Watkins (Norwich City).

Forwards: Tom Lawrence (Derby County), Harry Wilson (Liverpool), Sam Vokes (Burnley), Tom Bradshaw (Barnsley), David Brooks (Sheffield United), Hal Robson-Kanu (West Bromwich Albion).

Advertisement block