Skip to main content Skip to site footer
First Team

Team News: Eight Changes for the Eagles

25 September 2018

Roy Hodgson has made eight changes to his starting XI for tonight's Carabao Cup tie against West Bromwich Albion.

The only survivors from Saturday's 0-0 draw against Newcastle United are Patrick van Aanholt, Cheikhou Kouyate and Andros Townsend, meaning Vicente Guaita will make his second appearance in goal for the Eagles, and Jairo Riedewald and Martin Kelly line up in the heart of defence.

Match Previews

Preview: West Bromwich Albion v Crystal Palace

25 September 2018

Meanwhile, Max Meyer and Alexander Sørloth also get starts, with the latter looking to build on his match-winning performance against Swansea City in the last round.

The Baggies meanwhile have made 10 changes to their side that beat Millwall 2-0 on the weekend, with Ahmed Hegazi the only player to remain in the side. Ex-Eagle Dwight Gayle is named on the bench.

West Brom: Myhill, Adarabioyo, Hegazi, Field, Mears, Barry, Harper, Townsend, Hoolahan, Morrison, Robson-Kanu. Subs: Bond, Howkins, Brunt, Burke, Leko, Edwards, Gayle.

Palace: Guaita, Ward, Kelly, Riedewald, Van Aanholt, Puncheon, Meyer, Kouyate, Townsend, Schlupp, Sørloth. Subs: Speroni, Souare, Wan-Bissaka, Woods, Williams, Kaikai, Ayew.

Advertisement block