Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Awards Night Round-Up

8 May 2013

In front of a packed house at the Fairfield Halls in Croydon, Mile Jedinak walked away with the night's top prize as he scooped the Crystal Palace FC Player of the Year award for 2012/13.

The Aussie's fine performances in the heart of the Eagles' midfield this season saw him voted by those in attendance as the recipient of the prestigious accolade, joining a long list of club legends who have picked up the prize.

On stage after collecting his award, Mile said: “It's been a really tough season – the word rollercoaster comes to mind – but I've thoroughly enjoyed being part of this group and to be recognised alongside the other contenders and to win is a huge honour.”

A small margin separated Jedinak and Glenn Murray, however the striker didn't leave empty handed, as he was the Vice-Presidents' choice for the Player of the Year, and won the Goal of the Year trophy for his stunning strike against Middlesbrough.

Murray quipped: “That was the best of my 30 goals this season, I don't score many with my left foot so that was one of my more memorable ones!”

That was just one of 30 Championship goals for the striker this season, and this feat was also recognised with a special presentation of awards to those who have hit the milestone during a single season. Murray and Andy Johnson took their places in the newly-founded Palace 30 Club alongside Ian Wright, Johnny Byrne, Perry Cherrett, Talbert Dawes and Peter Simpson.

Another double award winner was Jonny Williams, who capped a breakout season by scooping both the Young Player and Vice-President's Young Player of the Year accolades. 

The 19 year old, who also won his first Welsh cap in February talked about Friday night's play-off encounter with Brighton, saying: “I'm going to prepare as I would for any other game but it is against Brighton so I'll have to be mentally ready for both games, but I'm really looking forward it and hopefully we can beat them.” 

A special presentation was also made to Academy Manager Gary Issott for his work with the club's youngsters during a decade with the Eagles. Issott has helped develop talents such as Wayne Routledge, Victor Moses, Nathaniel Clyne and Wilfried Zaha and chairman Steve Parish handed him a memento for his fine work.

The night's winners in full:
CPFC Player of the Year: Mile Jedinak
CPFC Young Player of the Year: JonnyWilliams
CPFC Goal of the Year: Glenn Murray v Middlesbrough
Vice-Presidents' Player of the Year: Glenn Murray
Vice Presidents' Young Player of the Year – Jonny Williams
Special Achievement Award – Gary Issott
Paul Brooks Academy Player of the Year: Hiram Boateng 
Oasis Academy Player of the Year: Kyle Spence 
Scholar of the Year: Mandela Egbo 
CPFC Ladies Player of the Year: Kirsty Mitchell 
Employee of the Year: Cheryl Wiseman 
Fan of the Year: Mandy Maddock 
Foundation Coach of the Year: Trevor Meader 
Community Coach of the Year: Andreas Praninskas
Study Centre Outstanding Pupil Achievement: Morgan Potter
Study Centre Volunteer Of The Year: Zak Altay

Advertisement block