Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

CPFC Player of the Year - The History

13 May 2015


Crystal Palace will this week announce its Player of the Year for 2014/15 as another name is added to the list of club legends who have picked up the illustrious title since its inception more than 40 years ago.

back in 1972, having played a key role in Palace’s promotion to the First Division following his arrival seven years earlier.John McCormickThe inaugural prize was won by

Scotsman McCormick, who cost the club £1,500, went on to form a famous defensive partnership with Mel Blyth during the club’s time in the top flight, which helped him claim the prize.

, who made more than 100 appearances for Palace, was handed the first of his two Player of the Year awards.Peter TaylorTwo years later club legend

When Taylor won his second gong, in 1976, his standout performances on the wing earned him four England caps, despite plying his trade in the old Third Division at the time.

won the first of his three Player of the Year awards, five years after scoring on his debut against Chelsea.Jim CannonIn 1978, Crystal Palace’s record appearance holder

The centre half, who donned the famous red and blue stripes on 660 occasions and captained the side for ten seasons, completed his hat-trick of awards in 1987.

was handed the award in his penultimate season at Selhurst Park.George WoodThe previous year, current Crystal Palace goalkeeping coach

received the trophy the following season as Palace reached the FA Cup final, narrowly losing in a replay to Manchester United.Mark Bright picked up the prize in 1989 after firing the club into the First Division, while his strike partner Ian WrightStar striker

won the second of his two awards in 1991, as the Eagles finished third in the old First Division – their highest ever league position.Geoff ThomasMidfield workhorse

helped him win the prize two years later.David Hopkin won the award in 1994 and 1995, before a famous play-off winning goal from Richard Shaw and Chris ColemanDefensive duo

The midfielder’s 90th minute strike against Sheffield United instantly wrote him into Crystal Palace folklore as the club sealed promotion back to the Premier League – although he was then sold to Leeds United.

took home the crown in two consecutive seasons, in 2004 and 2005, finishing as top scorer in the First Division in the 2003/04 season with 32 goals.Andrew JohnsonHitman

His goals the following season helped the club win promotion through the playoffs for the second time in a decade, although it was strike partner Neil Shipperley who scored the decisive goal against West Ham at the Millennium Stadium.

made club history by becoming the first player to win the title in three consecutive seasons between 2008 and 2010, after cementing his position as number one with a string of fine performances.Julian SperoniArgentine goalkeeper

was handed the trophy a year later.Jonathan Parr in 2011, before fellow defender Nathaniel ClyneBut he was beaten to the award by young full-back

claimed a record fourth award last year.Speroni scooped the top prize, before Mile JedinakIn the campaign that brought about a return to the Premier League in 2012/13 captain

.click hereTo see a complete list of winners,

You can be there to see who lifts this year's prize at the Awards Night, which will take place at the Fairfield Halls in Croydon on Wednesday 13th May 2015 between 7.00pm and 10.00pm. 

The annual event will see a number of awards announced for achievements on and off the pitch plus exclusive interviews with the squad, management team and surprise guests.

to purchase online.CLICK HERETickets are priced at £26.50 per person and are available for sale from the Fairfield Halls. To book please call their box office on 020 8688 9291 or

Advertisement block