Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

McCarthy Makes Debut In Cape Town Cup Final

26 July 2015

Alan Pardew has made a number of changes to the side that beat SuperSport United 4-0 in the Cape Town Cup semi-final on Friday night.

The six players who played the full 90 minutes on Friday - Wayne Hennessey, Martin Kelly, Brede Hangeland, Mile Jedinak, Joe Ledley and Chung-yong Lee - have all been given a break and either drop to the bench, or will not feature in this afternoon's final.

Goalkeeper Alex McCarthy, who signed for the Eagles last week, makes his first start for the club, replacing Hennessey, who impressed against SuperSport.

Joel Ward and Damien Delaney replace Kelly and Hangeland in the Palace eleven, at right and centre-back respectively, whilst Scott Dann and Pape Souare retain their starting spots.

In midfield, Scotland international James McArthur partners summer signing Yohan Cabaye in the centre, with Jason Puncheon and Dwight Gayle looking to provide width. Jordon Mutch - who impressed and scored against SuperSport - gets another start in the number 10 role, playing behind Glenn Murray.

Here is the full line up and substitutes:

McCarthy; Ward, Delaney, Dann, Souare; McArthur, Cabaye; Puncheon, Mutch, Gayle; Murray. Subs: Hennessey, Kelly, Hangeland, Scales, Jedinak, Lee, Kaikai, Zaha, Bamford.

Advertisement block