Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Gayle Edges Closer To Eagles Landmark

9 May 2016

After netting a brace against Stoke City on Saturday, Dwight Gayle moved to seven goals for the Eagles in all competitions, putting him on top of the club’s scoring charts for the season.

It’s a spot he’s become very familiar with during his time at SE25, having been the number one marksman in his previous two campaigns in red and blue, meaning he could be on course for three straight seasons.

Should he do so, he’ll be in fine company with only seven other players' in Palace's 110 year history having achieved the feat. The most recent was Andrew Johnson, who actually finished top scorer for four straight seasons between 2002/03 and 2005/06 before he was sold to Everton. This included 21 during the Eagles’ year-long stay in the Premier League back in 2004/05, having scored 32 the previous year.

During this time he forged a strong partnership with Clinton Morrison, who himself had come out on top for four previous campaigns starting in 1998/99. Earlier that decade, Chris Armstrong had managed three seasons between 1992/93 and 1994/95 – two of which were in the top-flight.

However the man who has been top scorer for the most successive seasons is David Swindlehurst, who managed six between 1975 and 1980, however on four of those occasions he shared the honour with the likes of Alan Whittle, Rachid Harkouk and Ian Walsh, and was outright winner just twice in 1975/76 and 1978/79.

Only three other players have managed to come out on top for three or more straight seasons – unsurprisingly Palace’s all-time top scorer Peter Simpson managed five from 1929/30 to 1933/34, George Whitworth (1922/23 to 1924/25) and second to Simpson’s in the all-time rankings is Ted Smith, who strung four together before the outbreak of World War One, and when football resumed after a four year hiatus he added another 19 goal haul to his total in Palace’s final season in the Southern League. 

Three or more seasons as Palace's top goalscorer (all comps)
1911-1915 - Ted Smith (4)
1922-1925 - George Whitworth (3)
1929-1932 - Peter Simpson (5)
1974-1980 - David Swindlehurst (6, shared 4)
1992-1995 - Chris Armstrong (3)
1998-2002 - Clinton Morrison (4)
2002-2006 - Andrew Johnson (4)

Advertisement block