Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Three First-Team Players To Depart Palace

8 June 2018

Following the publication of the Premier League’s retained lists, Crystal Palace can confirm that Damien Delaney, Chung-yong Lee and Diego Cavalieri will leave the club once their contracts expire at the end of the month.

Delaney, 36, enjoyed a hugely successful six years with the Eagles, helping them to promotion in his first season in 2012/13 and then playing a key role in ensuring the club achieved Premier League safety for the first time the following campaign. He continued to be a regular in the heart of the defence, and made 193 Palace appearances scoring seven goals.

South Korean international Lee arrived from Bolton Wanderers in February 2014 and completed a half-century of games for the club on the final day of the season against West Bromwich Albion. He scored twice for the Eagles, including a memorable last-gasp winner at Stoke City in December 2015.

Meanwhile, former Brazilian international Cavalieri’s short-term deal with the club has come to an end, having arrived as goalkeeping cover in March.

The club would like to place on record its thanks to all three players for their efforts during their time with Crystal Palace, and wish them well in the remainder of their careers.

New contracts have been offered to Yohan Cabaye, Bakary Sako, Julian Speroni and Joel Ward, and further news on these players will be announced in due course.

As well as the three first-team players, Andre Coker, Jacob Berkeley-Agyepong and Victor Fundi from the development squad have left the club, as well as under-18s players Andrew Demby, Matthew Funnell, Kyle Lynch, Brandon Oddy, Tariq Ossai, Will Ozono and Jordan Serrato.

However, the club are delighted to announce that scholars Lewis Bryon, James Daly, Joseph Hungbo and Oliver Webber have all been offered professional deals.

Below is a full list of our retained players:-

Christian Benteke
Tyler Brown
Scott Dann
Luke Dreher
Jason Lokilo
Kian Flanagan
Wayne Hennessey
Dion Henry
Ryan Inniss
Jaroslaw Jach
Francis Baptiste
Sullay Kaikai
Martin Kelly
Nya Kirby
Levi Lumeka
James McArthur
Giovanni McGregor
Luka Milivojevic
Tyrick Mitchell
Jordon Mutch
Oliver O'Dwyer
Jason Puncheon
Jairo Riedewald
Mamadou Sakho
Jeffrey Schlupp
Alexander Sorloth
Pape Souare
Julian Speroni
Nikola Tavares
James Tomkins
Andros Townsend
Patrick Van Aanholt
Aaron Wan-Bissaka
Connor Wickham
Jonathan Williams
Samuel Woods
Wilfried Zaha


David Boateng
Lewis Bryon
James Daly
William Donkin
Bivesh Gurung
Ryan Hanson
Joseph Hungbo
Joshua Malcolm
Drew Matthews
Ehizojie Onoabhagbe
Sean Robertson
Cian Trehy
Courtney Watson
Oliver Webber

Advertisement block