Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Roy & Wrighty Are Winners At London Football Awards

1 March 2018

On Thursday evening the annual London Football Awards were held in Battersea and both Roy Hodgson and Ian Wright were award winners as many faces of the Capital's football family came together.

Roy was one five managers nominated in the Manager Of The Year category which goes to Best Manager at a London Club in the 2017/2018 season.

Manager of the Year (sponsored by Football Manager)
Emma Hayes – Chelsea Ladies
Roy Hodgson – Crystal Palace
Slaviša Jokanović – Fulham
Neil Harris – Millwall
Mauricio Pochettino – Tottenham Hotspur

Roy pictured just after receiving his award on the night with Lennie Lawrence.

The Outstanding Contribution to London Football is an award which is goes to a Player, Manager or Administrator who has made a significant contribution to football in London and the winner for 2018 was Ian Wright.

Ian joined Palace from Greenwich Borough in 1985 and went on to make 277 appearances for the Eagles and scored 117 goals before leaving in 1991.

To take you back to those days we bring you a selection of images from that period in our gallery covering Ian's playing career at Selhurst Park.

Congratulations also to Wilfried Zaha who was nominated in the Premier League Player Of The Year category.

Advertisement block