Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Palace's record against the champions of England

18 October 2019

Crystal Palace will face the champions of English football for the 41st time when Manchester City head to Selhurst Park this Saturday, with the Eagles seeking to build on their recent record against the top-flight's title holder.

Over their history, Palace have defeated the champions [whomever they may be, not just City] on seven separate occasions, notching 11 draws and falling to 20 defeats in 19 top-flight seasons.

All things considered, it is a not unimpressive record. The Eagles have collected more wins in 38 league meetings with the country's reigning champion than the last four bottom-placed teams managed against everyone in a whole league campaign.

In recent times, the record is even stronger - Palace have won against the champions in four of their last five seasons, only failing to do so in 2016/17 when they lost and drew with Leicester City.

In the 10 matches over those five seasons, the Eagles have claimed 13 points. It's a fruitless exercise, but applying that points-per-game ratio to a league campaign, earning 13 points from 10 matches it the equivalent of 49 from 38: Palace's highest ever top-flight total.

Outside the league, Palace have only played the title-holders twice, drawing 2-2 with Manchester United in the 1994/95 FA Cup and going on to lose the replay 0-2.

In total, the Eagles have played nine different champions, facing United and Arsenal (eight times each) on the most occasions.

The rest are: Liverpool (six), Leeds United (four), Chelsea (four), Manchester City (four), Derby County (two), Everton (two), Leicester City (two).

There have been 107 goals scored in total.

Palace v the champions

Leeds United, 1969/70: 1-1, 0-2 (L)

Everton, 1970/71: 3-1 (L), 2-0 (W)

Arsenal, 1971/72: 2-1 (L), 2-2

Derby County, 1972/73: 0-0, 2-2

Liverpool, 1979/80: 3-0 (L), 0-0

Liverpool, 1980/81: 3-0 (L), 2-2

Arsenal, 1989/90: 4-1 (L), 1-1

Liverpool, 1990/91: 1-0 (W), 3-0 (L)

Arsenal, 1991/92:1-4 (L), 4-1 (L)

Leeds, 1992/93: 1-0 (W), 0-0

Manchester United, 1994/95: 3-0 (L), 1-1

Man United, 1997/98: 2-0 (L), 0-3 (L)

Arsenal, 2004/05:1-1, 5-1 (L)

Man United, 2013/14: 2-0 (L), 0-2 (L)

Manchester City, 2014/15: 3-0 (L), 2-1 (W)

Chelsea, 2015/16: 1-2 (W), 0-3 (L)

Leicester City, 2016/17: 3-1 (L), 2-2

Chelsea, 2017/18: 2-1 (W), 2-1 (L)

Man City, 2018/19: 2-3 (W), 1-3 (L)


Advertisement block